That’s a Wrap

2016 has indeed been a strange year.

We’ve all changed in ways we never thought we would. I’ve always been an opinionated feminist, but I went dark there for a while. So dark in fact that I stopped writing. Just sealed it up like it was some kind of limited resource; a BREAK PEN CAP IN CASE OF EMERGENCY kinda thing.

Well that’s enough of that.

In keeping with the holiday tradition of reminiscing and inadvertently purging everything from the pervious year, I took mental inventory. And it was way better than Facebook’s dismal display. I definitely did more than like things and take selfies. Not much more, but still. I learned things. Things about me, about the world, about life. And even though you didn’t ask me to, I’m going to share them with you now:

  1. Long Distance Relationships Suck Balls. But if it’s the right person, then it’s totally worth it. I could write 1,000 words on this subject alone, but I think that sums it up pretty nicely. Maybe later.
  2. Good Bosses are like Good Parents. They don’t coddle you or sugar coat anything. They’re always around when you need them. They only want you to succeed and they take pleasure in helping you grow as a person. They genuinely care about your wellbeing. Blue Sky Agency is full of good bosses and I am beyond grateful for my experience there this year.
  3. Real Friends Never Falter. Friendships change and grow and multiply and dimmish with hardly any warning at all. But the real ones, the strong ones, the ones with roots, well those surpass all obstacles. They blossom without light, they stay green through the winter, they still call you and text you even if you haven’t seen them in years. It’s hard to remember that sometimes, especially as we get older. The needless and frivolous fall away, and you feel like you’re loosing people. But the real ones, the good ones, they linger. And though they may be few, they are mighty.
  4. I am not an extrovert. Joke’s on you! I like being alone way more than I, or anyone else, realized. Sure, I love telling stories at parties and being on stage, but small talk with strangers? Making friends with anyone I meet? Large parties where I don’t know anyone? Please, spare me. I can turn it on if I have to, but most often I would rather be curled up, alone, writing, reading or binging Netflix. Really had everyone going there for a while though, huh? I guess my “Most Days I Wish I Was a Cat” mug is more accurate than I thought.
  5. We Are Always in Transition. I keep waiting for the day when the earth will feel solid and still under my feet and I am beginning to realize… it’s never gonna happen. That’s the beauty of being human though, we are always in motion. Mentally, emotionally, physically. Okay, maybe not always physically, but you get the idea. Maybe it’s not so much about finding a static position as it is about embracing the momentum.
  6. Never Talk Politics Drunk. Just don’t do it. It’s not a good idea. In fact, it’s a very, very bad idea. You are never as articulate as you think you are.

So ya, only 6 things. But hey, it was only one year.

Peace, Love and 2017.

 

One thought on “That’s a Wrap

Leave a Reply

