America, I love you, but you’re bringing me down.

 This felt bigger than a Facebook post. Bigger than Instagram or snapchat. Bigger than I can even begin to wrap my head around, but I’ll try.
Last night the mildly unsavory political actions of an outstanding woman were deemed worse for the country than the twisted, bigoted moral fibers of a man. Trump’s entire personality was decided to be a more acceptable flaw than Clinton’s exaggerated political corruption.
This wasn’t politics. This was something much, much bigger.
This was an exercise in brutal compartmentalization for a lot of Americans. Both parties had large majorities that voted for their candidate despite their own unfavorable opinions of said candidate. Both sides had voters who had to overlook glaring flaws to do what they believed, in their heart of hearts, was right. Not everyone was running to the poles with bells on to cast their votes like I was (and I’d do it again in a heartbeat).
Although our country has elected, in my opinion, a racist, sexist, manipulative, psychopathic billionaire, if we can, as individual citizens in our teeny tiny seemingly insignificant daily lives, no matter who you voted for, treat each other with kindness, empathy and respect, call out injustice with fierce vigor, stand firm and unwavering in the face of oppression — hate will never win.
I wish that didn’t sound so idealistic right now. I wish it didn’t feel like I was lying to myself and to all the Black, Muslim, Mexican, LGBTQ, Female, Jewish (unfortunately etc.) people I love and respect. But it’s the only thing I can believe in right now. To me, right now in this moment, America is not the sum of it’s parts. It is a broken machine in need of repair. There are parts that must be replaced, yes, but there are also parts that just need a little grease, a little tightening of the screw, a little adjustment. Though those tasks feel anything but little right now.
I write this because it is all I can do right now. I write this because I cannot let this go. I write this because I will not be silenced even though the majority of white America just told me they don’t want to hear what I have to say. I write because that is how I will make change. It is my teeny tiny seemingly insignificant contribution, in the plea to please, please, please not let this country fall apart.
“It is all a dismal picture. Late last night, as the results were coming in from the last states, a friend called me full of sadness, full of anxiety about conflict, about war. Why not leave the country? But despair is no answer. To combat authoritarianism, to call out lies, to struggle honorably and fiercely in the name of American ideals—that is what is left to do. That is all there is to do.” – David Remnick; An American Tragedy
*Note: yes, this particular post may be about politics when the rest of my blog deals mostly with the creative side of advertising, so I am aware that this may not have been the best platform to express these sentiments. However, if you think for one second the political climate doesn’t affect the advertising industry, or if Trump’s potential (still holding out a sliver of hope her) presidency won’t affect women in the industry on a large scale and perpetuate the boys club mentality that is unfortunately still alive and well among Admen, you are sorely mistaken.
Leave a Reply

